Project 3 – Photographing the Unseen

Project 3 – Photographing the unseen

 Exercise

 Peter Mansell. Dewald Botha. Jodie Taylor. 

 Which of these projects resonates most with you, and why? 

 How do you fell about the loss of authorial control that comes when the viewer projects their own experiences and emotions onto the images you’ve created? 

Peter Mansell was left with a spinal cord injury as a result of an accident when he was younger. He photographed images that portrayed traces of his injury and it’s impact.

Dewald Botha used his own experience of feeling like an outside living in China. He was originally from South Africa. His project, Ring Road shows a search for beauty in a place of difficulty for him.

Jodie Taylor’s work Memories of Childhood shows places were she spent her childhood, hitch she photographed places were she has memories of.

These three projects are all very personal. I find that Peter Mansell work resonates with me  more than the others. As I am a carer for my mother who is disabled, I can see what he is trying achieve through his photographs. I can see how he is trying to show the impact of his disability and I find I can relate to that because of my mother’s disability. I feel that it is good for the viewer to project their own experiences and emotions onto my images, as it gives a chance for the photographer and the viewers to relate.


 

Leave a Reply

