Exercise

 Exercise 

 Choose a poem that resonates with you then interpret it through photographs. 

For this exercise I thought about several poems. The first that came to mind was TS Eliot’s The Waste Land. But I found it quite difficult to represent it through photography. For example, the line: ‘I will show you fear in a handful of dust’, would be difficult to show in an image. One of my favourite poems is William Blake’s Auguries of Innocence. I decided to represent the first verse through photography. I wanted to try something different, so I brought a glass ball, as in the poem it talks about seeing a world through a grain of sand. I wanted to use the glass ball to represent the grain of sand. At first it was tricky to get used to photographing through the glass but after a while I got used to it and I like the effect it produced. I had to rotate the images in post-production as the image in the ball is upside down. I enjoyed using it in this exercise and would definitely use it again. The poem goes as follows.

To See a World in a Grain of Sand

DSC_1651

And Heaven in a Wild FlowerDSC_1574

Hold Infinity in the Palm of your HandDSC_1551

And Eternity in an Hour. DSC_1666

I am happy with the images I produced for this exercise. I do not think the images are repetitive and I do not think I could take any out as it would loose the structure of the verse. I believe each image represents the line in the verse quite well. For example for the first line about sand, I photograph a beach, the line about a wild flower, I photographer a wildflower. I feel that the images work well together. They all have the consistency of using the glass ball. I do not think another image would help as I feel these four images work well and represent the poem correctly.


Leave a Reply

